Saint Francis

The morning we wake up in Allagash Village Darlene’s rooster is a crowing. Knowing that the restaurant opens at 7am Bill & I use this alarm clock to spring to life at the thought of a non-campfire breakfast.
We get up & make our way into the Kelly family restaurant. Later on Darlene comes by & speaks with us, then after a great breakfast we go back outside to start packing up. After a very lengthy time, we are finally ready to start moving. As I take my first bag down to the water I notice that there is a red canoe in the water already. I fail to connect the dots here, thinking, Bill & I own this Canoe trail. Well, as I come back up the riverbank & make my way across the road & go behind the restaurant, Darlene pipes up, “there they are” and comes out and informs me that another through paddler has arrived. I get Bill’s attention & go inside.
Upon entering Darlene points me over to the other thru paddler. After introductions Bill & I begin sharing stories with Matt about different trail experiences. Very AT-ish. And as it turns out, Matt has also hiked the AT! After a good while, Bill & I decide we had better get moving,say good by to the Kelly family & head down to the river, load boat, & cast off just as Matt is hopping into his boat.
Before we set out, we tell Matt, we are stopping at Pelletier’s camp ground 13 miles down the Saint John river in St Francis. This section of Paddling goes pretty well. Only scratching a few sand bars. The St John is a big river & even has some drops & rapids.
About 2 & a half hours later we pull up to what we believe is Pelletier’s. While Bill is referencing the Map, I paddle the boat out to the middle of the river, where it is fairly deep. When Bill looks up & gets his paddle in his hands I jump out. Now, it is almost winter here in the northland & the moment I was in the river I knew it! When we make it to shore, Bill heads up to check that we are indeed at the campground. As he returns to the river shore, I have unloaded most of the gear & we only have to secure the boat for the evening. After walking up to the camping area, we set up camp & begin some of the camp routine. At one point I go up for water where i meet Norm, the owner operator of the camp ground. About an hour later, I return to the campsite with the water after having become engrossed speaking with Norm. When I get down, I notice Matt has arrived.

The rest of our afternoon is consumed reading, cooking dinner, & talking around the campfire.

Leave a comment